Here I am in a different moment

DSCF2803So, the last blog post was very open about what I was going through. I thought it would only be right to share where I am now and how I got here.  I got through last week and it wasn’t easy. Without a supportive other half or a very good Union Rep, at work,  I’m not sure I would have been able to do it on my own.

Unions…grrr bad…always going on strike and being disruptive. Aren’t they?! I am a workplace Union Rep and I can hand on heart say this unpaid role is probably one of the most difficult a person can volunteer for. No one wants to know you unless they are in trouble and management tend to see you as the enemy. But I would like to highlight it is Union Reps who support people at what can be their lowest ebb. We see the tears and sit with people who have just been sacked. Joyful work it really is..not! My Union Rep was all heart she focused me on work and what I was doing. It was what I needed.

I asked my other half today what was I like last week. Away with the fairies, a nightmare, you weren’t thinking about us. All true and as much as it was hard hearing it. It is part of my understanding the whole picture. I was off work on Friday and I really didn’t feel like doing anything. My other half put a movie on and I stretched out on the sofa with the intention of sleeping. I became interested in the film and started watching. Turns out it was one of four movies in a series so I suggested we watch them back to back. A very restful day. Saturday, I got up. Went out and did a few jobs. Home and stretched out again and watched another movie. Then in the evening we went out to visit friends.

By Sunday  I was feeling a lot better. I had given my head space to relax and I enjoyed it. We had a trip to Nottingham planned and we had arranged to have dinner out. A lovely trip with laughter and even though a long drive, it was very relaxed.

So, here I am in this moment. Feeling a lot better and ready for work tomorrow. mindful-meditation-wolf-head_bw_fa-1-page-001Feel free to contact me and chat about how you deal with things.

Leave a Reply

