How I use mindfulness to deal with unconscious bias?!

A bit of a heavy question to sit and think about. I was listening to a song on the radio the other day. I really liked the music and the lyrics to me seemed to mean something.  I managed to catch the song title and then set about finding out the artist.

Last week I had seen adverts on Facebook for a new album by an artist called Rag and Bone Man. So I was surprised when I found out he was the singer of the song. I hadn’t passed any heed of his name; as someone who’s follow American Rock for decades I can’t say I only listen to bands/singers with sensible names.

What did I look at and judge? Well, his beard for starters, then his cap and lastly his tattoos. A good example of unconscious bias rising to the surface.

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=rag+and+bone+man+human

(Please note other music artists are available.)

I sat back and thought about it. Why should someone’s expression of themselves make me so judgemental? Social media and television shows certainly don’t help. At work I mix with people who have beards, tattoos and piercings and I don’t bat an eyelid. Which means I mindful-meditation-wolf-head_bw_fa-1-page-001can do it. Do I use mindfulness more when I’m at work and not when I’m using social media? More questions but I think that is good because I am challenging myself.

Mindfulness is awareness without judgement. Which means I can be aware of myself without judgement and make changes. We are all works in progress and I think we should be more appreciative of how much we do to improve ourselves.

What do you think? Do drop me a line and let me know.

If you’d like to talk to me about what I do, please get in touch.

 

Leave a Reply

